Nepal-China Seven Border Crossing-points

Nepal-China Seven border crossing-points

Buddhi Narayan Shrestha


Nepal and China have agreed to open additional seven border crossing-points after India enacted   undeclared border blockade to Nepal. It has made a signature on 20-point agreement between Nepal and China to make a feasibility study in connection to operate these seven border crossing-points. The parliamentary committee has instructed to the government to open the crossing-points with China and to upgrade the standard of the roads which connect these points. The seven border crossing points are Olangchungola, Kimathanka, Lamabagar, Gorkha Larke, Mustang, Mugu and Humla. Besides these seven crossing-points, Kodari-Khasa has been in operation since 1968 for the transaction of trade and commerce. The second commercial border-point is the Rasuwagadhi-Kerung, which has come into use recently.
Description of  seven border crossing-points which have been supposed to be operated for the trade and commerce in future are as followings:-


Border- point


Name of Border Crossing Points Height of Crossing-point (Meter) Distance to Tibetan Market from the Border-point (Meter) Length of the Road to connect Cina (Tibet) and India (Kilometer)
Nepal Nearest Market of China
1 Olangchungola (Tiptala Pass) Riwa Bazar 5,095 22 Riwa Bazar to Panitanki/Galgalia= 360
2 Kimathanka (Lengdup) Riwa Bazar 2,248 30 Riwa Bazar to Jogbani= 281
3 Lamabagar (Lapchi) Phalek 2,050 14 Phalek to Bhitamode= 240
4 Gorkha Larke (Lajyang Pass) Kungtang 5,098 59 Kungtang to Bhikhana Thori= 420
5 Mustang (Korala) Zhongba 4,871 47 Zhongba to Sunauli 448
6 Mugu (Nagcha) Hyazimang 6,495 21 Hyazimang to Rupaidiya= 374
7 Humla (Hilsa) Sera 5,092 19 Sera to Gaurifanta= 473

This table and map show that the shortest having low height road is Lamabagar (Lapchi)-Phalek crossing-point road.  31 kilometer of road has to be constructed from Lamabagar to touch the Chinese border. If a 6 km long tunnel road is constructed from Lamabagar, the length of the road will be shortened by 25 km.Road Network


Kimathanka-Riwa Bazar crossing-point road is most feasible for the purpose of increasing the business activities of eastern Nepal with China. But it has to construct 113 km additional road from Khadbari to the border crossing point. This road will connect China to Indian broad gaze  railway station at Jogbani.


For the western Nepal, Mustang-Zhongba border crossing point road is most useful. This road is already in operation. But there is mud-built road between Beni to Mustang (Korala) section, which bears nearly 35 percent  of the total 448 km long road. Unofficial and local trade, commerce and transit have been already started through this road.


Humla (Hilsa)-Sera (Taklakot) crossing road will be useful for the Nepali people of far western region. Chinese road has been already constructed all the way from Taklakot to Yari Hilsa border point. And Nepal has extended this road up to 40 km towards Simikot of Nepal.  Now there is 50 km more to connect Simikot, the headquarter of Humla district.


Gorkha Larke and Mugu (Nagcha) crossing point roads are less feasible in comparison to other roads. However, the Tibetan authority opens the crossing points near to Samagaun and Chhekampar of Gorkha Larke, two months a year to sell the daily necessities and consumable goods for the Nepali and Tibetan local inhabitants. These border points had been opened also this year during September-October.


(An image of my article on the above mentioned heading, published in Nagarik Daily, has been copied below) :-

Nagarik Nepal-Chin Simanaka 72-8-2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: